Buckeyes v. Falcons?
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Homecoming

Saturday was BGSU’s homecoming.  I was tailgating most of the day and then went to the game.  I was surprised by the amount of support people had for BGSU this game over the Minnesota game at the beginning of the year.  Tailgating at the Minnesota game were a lot of Buckeye jerseys and fans, but at the homecoming game, I saw more Eastern Michigan fans than anything (and there weren’t too many of them).  I think that’s 10 times better though, because EMU and BGSU are both in the MAC conference and that’s showing some support for the little brother of the Big 10. 

During the tailgate festivities, I did hear a couple “O-H…” chants, but they weren’t finished every time.  My group of friends and I were pretty happy about that.  Even at the jam-packed bars later that night, the one or two OSU cheers were overturned by adoring alums of BGSU. 

It’s 100% fine that people love OSU as much as they do, but I just don’t understand why they show more support for a school they don’t go overa school that they attend every day.  Here, Bowling Green State University, is where we will graduate from, not OSU.  You don’t exactly see OSU fans sporting BGSU gear at the game or tailgating with t-shirts that say “Ay Ziggy Zoomba” on them.

No Responses to “Homecoming”

Leave a comment